Arkit "Emma"

May 4, 2015 Software Update

What's new in this update

People

This update introduces the new People panel, where you will see all the people using Arkit in your company, and all the people you're collaborating with using Arkit at other companies.

The People panel also enables new features like user roles, inviting new users within your company, and inviting users at other companies to collaborate.

Roles

We've heard feedback that sometimes it's important to control project access and privileges for different kinds of Arkit users.

To enable this, we're introducing four user roles for the people in your company, each with different privileges:

Administrator

  • view, edit, add and delete their company's projects
  • view all projects shared with their company
  • view, edit, add and delete their company's users
  • view, edit, add and remove people on the list of collaborating users from other companies
  • view and edit company settings

Project Manager

  • view, edit, add and delete their company's projects
  • view all projects shared with their company
  • view the list of their company's users
  • view, edit, add and remove people on the list of collaborating users from other companies

Privileged User

  • view and edit their company's projects
  • view all projects shared with their company
  • view the list of their company's users
  • view the list of collaborating users at other companies

Limited User

  • view their company's projects
  • view the list of their company's users
  • view specific collaborating users at other companies

We're also introducing two collaboration roles to control project access between companies. When you invite someone at another company to work on your projects, you choose a role for them to control their privileges. And if you are invited to collaborate by another company, they will choose a role for you. These collaboration roles are:

Privileged Collaborator

  • view and edit specified shared projects
  • view a list of the sharing company's users

Limited Collaborator

  • view specified shared projects

Invites

Using the new People panel, you can now invite people to sign up for an Arkit account and start working with you. There is no limit to how many people you can invite, and it's free for anyone to create an Arkit account.

You can invite people within your own company to join you, and you can also invite people at other companies to collaborate with you. When you invite someone, you choose a role for them to control their project access and system privileges. 

To save time when inviting many users in your company, we've created a unique, reusable Invite Code which lets anyone sign up for Arkit and join your company. If you share this Invite Code with your colleagues, they can sign up on the Arkit website without needing a personal invite email. For this reason, it's important to keep the unique Invite Code confidential inside your company.

Sharing

We've made a few changes to simplify how projects are shared with collaborating companies. When viewing a project, the Summary panel now has two new buttons - Share and Label. 

When you click Share, you see a list of the companies with whom you can share the project. You can only share with a company once you have invited one or more of their users to collaborate.

When you don't want to share a project with a company, you can still track the assigned company by clicking the new Label button and entering the company's name.

More resources

As with all our software updates, we've added new content to the Arkit User Guide about these new features. 

Questions, concerns or feedback? Open a support Request - we always want to hear from you!

 

Version:
Arkit "Emma"

Release date:
Goes live Monday May 4th, 2015

Downtime:
There will be brief downtime during the weekend of May 2nd - 3rd

Summary of changes

  • invite and manage users with the new People panel
  • set user roles to control project access and privileges
  • send invites to people at your company to join you using Arkit
  • send invites to people at other companies to collaborate using Arkit
  • better project sharing with collaborating companies
  • use a company invite code to let people join your company
  • improved project assignment with share or label options
  • get notified by email when projects are shared with your company
  • see project sharing events in the Activity Stream
  • edit your company name and upload a custom logo
  • see project and sharing counts in the Settings panel
  • See how many active tasks you have, or how many overdue
  • various bug fixes and feature improvements
  • Updated Terms of Service and Privacy Policy