Manage User Roles

Users in your company

Each person using Arkit in your company has a user role, which determines the kind of project access and system privileges they have. Only users in your company with the Administrator role can edit peoples’ roles.

To view peoples’ roles, open the People panel and ensure the Your Company list is selected. All users are listed, along with their role. When new users are first invited, they are assigned a role. It can be changed at any time by clicking the role dropdown beside their name.

There are four different roles for users in your company, each with a different set of privileges:

Administrator

  • view, edit, add and delete your company's projects
  • archive and unarchive your company's projects
  • view all projects shared with your company
  • view, edit, add and delete your company's users
  • view, edit, add and remove people on the list of collaborating users from other companies
  • view and edit your company settings

Project Manager

  • view, edit, add and delete your company's projects
  • archive and unarchive your company's projects
  • view all projects shared with your company
  • view the list of your company's users
  • view, edit, add and remove people on the list of collaborating users from other companies

Privileged User

  • view and edit your company's projects
  • unarchive your company's projects
  • view all projects shared with your company
  • view the list of your company's users
  • view the list of collaborating users at other companies

Limited User

  • view your company's projects
  • view the list of your company's users
  • view specific collaborating users at other companies

Users at collaborating companies

When you collaborate with people at other companies, they are given a role that determines the kind of access they have to your shared projects. Only users in your company with the Administrator and Project Manager roles can edit collaborators’ roles.

To view your collaborators’ roles, open the People panel and ensure the Other Companies list is selected. All collaborating users are listed, along with their role. When new collaborators are first invited, they are assigned a role. It can be changed at any time by clicking the role dropdown beside their name.

There are four different roles for collaborators at other companies, each with a different set of privileges:

Privileged Collaborator

  • view and edit the projects you share with their company
  • view a list of your company's users

Privileged (No Budget)

  • Same as Privileged Collaborator, but with no visibility to Budget

Limited Collaborator

  • view the projects you share with their company

Limited (No Budget)

  • Same as Limited Collaborator, but with no visibility to Budget

When you share projects with another company, all of their users with the roles of Administrator, Project Manager and Privileged User can view those projects. By giving specific collaborating users the Privileged Collaborator or Limited Collaborator roles, you can grant them additional privileges.